Knoxville Implied Consent Attorney
Arrested? Call Attorney Joseph Fanduzz at
(865) 896-9971 to Fight Your Charge!
Remember how excited you felt when you first got your driver’s license?
Freedom and control are some of the best parts of being legally permitted
to drive. However, with great power comes implied consent. Most people
aren’t aware that upon receiving their driver’s license, they
are giving their implied consent to take a
blood and breath test should they be pulled over for a suspected
If you are accused of violating Tennessee’s implied consent law, contact us online
or call (865) 896-9971
to schedule your free consultation.
Tenneesee's Implied Consent Facts
A major, and often overlooked, aspect of getting your driver’s license
is that you are giving law enforcement your permission to administer any
test(s) needed to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). Tennessee
law defines implied consent
as such: “ … when you drive in Tennessee, you have given your consent
to be tested to determine the alcohol or drug content of your blood. This
test must be administered at the request of a law enforcement officer
who has reasonable grounds to believe you have been driving under the
influence of an intoxicant or drug.”
Tennessee’s implied consent law applies to both blood and breath
tests, as well as field sobriety tests.
Simply put, law enforcement is legally allowed to make you take a blood
and breath test, and/or a field sobriety test, if they’re convinced
that you were driving under the influence. Refusal to take any test to
measure your BAC is a violation of the
implied consent rule.
What Are the Penalties for Violating the Implied Consent Law?
Violating the implied consent law is a civil offense. As a result of refusing
to submit a BAC or field sobriety test, you may be punished as such:
Driver’s license revocation:
Up to 1 year for
- Up to 2 years for second offense
- Up to 2 years if driver was involved in a crash which resulted in bodily
injury, and refused to take blood and/or breath test
- Up to 5 years if driver was involved in a crash which resulted in one or
more deaths, and refused to take blood and/or breath test
If you violated the implied consent law and the court finds that you were
also driving on a revoked, suspended or cancelled license due to a prior
conviction, you may face criminal penalties:
- Class A misdemeanor
- Up to $1,000 fines
- Mandatory minimum jail sentence of 5 days
- Required ignition interlock device
Attorney Fanduzz is committed to working to help reduce your implied consent
violation charge or dismiss it altogether.
Contact us online if you need highly rated defense in your corner.
What if I’m Found Not Guilty of a DUI?
Refusing to take a BAC or field sobriety test might convince law enforcement
that you are hiding something. They will most likely have a stronger suspicion
that you are guilty of a DUI. However,
even if the chemical test reveals that you were not driving under the influence,
you may still be guilty of violating the implied consent law.
Thus, even if your DUI charge is dismissed because you are found innocent,
you can still face an implied consent violation. DUIs and implied consent
are two separate things: If you are found innocent of a DUI, you can still
be penalized for refusing to take a chemical or field sobriety test.
Proven Success in Defending the Accused
The Law Office of Joseph A. Fanduzz is dedicated to representing you and
providing trusted legal counsel from beginning to end. Running into trouble
with the law is a frightening and uncertain time, so we make ourselves
available 24/7 to allow clients to ask questions or learn details about their case whenever
they need to. You can count on our highly rated Knoxville implied consent
lawyer to fight tirelessly against your implied consent violation charge.
Facing charges for violating implied consent law? Schedule your FREE consultation. Call (865) 896-9971
or contact us online
so we can begin building a powerful defense!