Drug PossessionProven Success In & Out of Court
Knoxville Drug Possession Defense Attorney
Proven Track Record for Successfully Fighting Drug Possession Charges
Drug charges of any kind are serious in many states, especially Tennessee. While some states are more lenient on certain drug possession crimes involving substances like marijuana, others punish defendants to the fullest extent permitted by the law. Tennessee is the latter.
Drug possession accusations can derail your livelihood in various ways. You may lose your job, housing, firearm rights, scholarships and freedom before even going to court. The power of a criminal charge can be equivalent to that of a conviction, therefore you should hire an experienced Knoxville drug possession defense lawyer who knows what it takes to come out on top.
What Is Drug Possession in TN?
A first-time drug possession conviction can result in a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and/or a $2,500 fine. This penalty applies to the following charges:
- Simple possession
- Casual exchange
- Casual exchange involving less than 1 gram of a controlled substance analog
- Possessing substances designed to falsify drug tests
- Methcathinone possession
- Possessing glue, paint, gas, etc. used for unlawful purposes
Depending on your criminal history, nature of your alleged offense and type of drugs involved, you could face increased criminal charges.
- If you have two or more convictions for simple possession or casual exchange, you may face a Class E felony punishable Up to 2 years in prison and/or up to $50,000 fines
Possession of salvia divinorum is a Class D felony punishable by 2 to 4
years in jail and/or up to $50,000 fines.
- A subsequent violation is a Class C felony punishable by 3 to 6 years in jail and/or up to $100,000 fines.
Regardless of the severity of your drug possession charges and criminal history, a judge may sentence you to additional legal punishments at their discretion, such as drug offender school, rehab and community service.
To better understand what your drug possession charges mean, it helps to review the federal drug schedules that consist of five distinct categories based on the drugs’ accepted medical use and potential for dependency or abuse.
Schedule I: Drugs with no currently accepted medical use and a high potential for abuse. Some examples include heroin, lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD), marijuana (cannabis), ecstasy, methaqualone and peyote
Schedule II: Drugs with a high potential for abuse, with use potentially leading to severe psychological or physical dependence. These drugs are also considered dangerous. Some examples include combination products with less than 15 milligrams of hydrocodone per dosage unit (Vicodin), cocaine, methamphetamine, oxycodone (OxyContin), fentanyl, Dexedrine, Adderall and Ritalin.
Schedule III: Drugs with a moderate to low potential for physical and psychological dependence with an abuse potential being less than Schedule I and Schedule II drugs but more than Schedule IV. Some examples of Schedule III drugs are products containing less than 90 milligrams of codeine per dosage unit (Tylenol with codeine), ketamine, anabolic steroids and testosterone.
Schedule IV: Drugs with a low potential for abuse and low risk of dependence. Some examples include Xanax, Soma, Darvon, Darvocet, Valium, Ativan, Talwin, Ambien and Tramadol.
Schedule V: Drugs with a lower potential for abuse than Schedule IV and consist of preparations containing limited quantities of certain narcotics. Some examples include cough preparations with less than 200 milligrams of codeine or per 100 milliliters (Robitussin AC), Lomotil, Motofen, Lyrica and Parepectolin.
Defend Your Drug Possession Charges Today!
There is no better time to get started on fighting your Knoxville drug possession charges than right now. The clock is ticking, and prosecutors are wasting no time in working to put you behind bars. Our Knoxville drug possession defense will waste no time building a high-caliber, compelling defense as a result.
Serious Drug Offenses Case Dismissed
1st Degree Murder Reduced 51 Years to 3-6 Years
DUI & Simple Possession Charges Dropped
Aggravated Rape Reduced Charge
1st Degree Murder Reduced Sentence