Vehicular HomicideProven Success In & Out of Court
Knoxville Vehicular Homicide Lawyer
Defending Clients Charged With Vehicular Homicide in Knox County
Tennessee law defines vehicular homicide as a fatal crash caused by a DUI driver with a.08 BAC or more. If you accidentally killed someone while driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you may be charged with vehicular homicide and spend a substantial amount of your life paying the price. Our team has handled cases like yours and knows how to develop a personalized defense strategy designed to improve your chances of receiving a favorable verdict.
Are you facing a vehicular homicide charge in Tennessee? Call the Law Office of Joseph A. Fanduzz today at (865) 896-9971 or contact us online to schedule a meeting with our vehicular homicide attorney in Knoxville!
Is Vehicular Homicide a Felony in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, vehicular homicide is classified as a Class B felony. Individuals can face severe penalties such as jail time, hefty fines, and/or probation if convicted of this crime. The court can impose additional requirements, including community service hours or alcohol/drug treatment programs. In addition, those found guilty may have their driver's license suspended or revoked, be subjected to restricted driving privileges, and/or have their vehicles impounded. They may also be required to attend a victim impact panel. It is essential to understand that the maximum sentence for vehicular homicide in Tennessee is 30 years imprisonment with a fine of up to $25,000.00. Thus, it is critical for anyone who has been charged with vehicular homicide in Tennessee to seek out skilled legal representation as soon as possible. Doing so can help protect the rights and best interests of the accused individual.
Aggravated Vehicular Homicide in Tennessee
Aggravated Vehicular Homicide is a serious criminal offense in the state of Tennessee, punishable by up to 60 years in jail. This charge applies when someone causes the death of another person while driving recklessly or under the influence of drugs or alcohol. It is considered a Class A felony and can also lead to $50,000 in fines.
What Must The Prosecution Prove in a Vehicular Homicide Case?
The prosecution must prove three factors in order to convict you of vehicular homicide:
- Recklessness: The motorist knew that acting a certain way posed a high risk to others, but disregarded this knowledge and acted anyway.
- Causation: There must be clear proof that the defendant was the legal cause of the victim’s death.
- Intoxication: Tennessee law defines intoxication as a motorist’s impaired ability to operate a vehicle due to drug or alcohol ingestion, or a BAC of .08% or higher.
If the prosecution cannot prove these three points, they cannot convict you of vehicular homicide. Our team is focused on fighting for alternatives to prison and unaffordable fines. We are on your side.
Contact Our Knoxville Vehicular Homicide Attorney Today
When you hire our qualified Knoxville vehicular homicide lawyer at the Law Office of Joseph A. Fanduzz, you can rest assured that your criminal case is our top priority. We prioritize our relationship with clients to ensure you feel informed and prepared for the possibilities in your case. Contact us to learn more about what we can do to help you.
Contact the Law Office of Joseph A. Fanduzz today to schedule a FREE consultation with our vehicular homicide lawyer in Knoxville!
1st Degree Murder Reduced Sentence
Felony Charges Case Dismissed
DUI & Simple Possession Charges Dropped
Robbery Not Guilty
Serious Drug Offenses Case Dismissed